ISO 45001:2018 – Occupational Health and Safety Management System

Increased global trade brings new health and safety challenges which have driven the need for an international OH&S management system standard to enable global benchmarking and to raise the bar for health and safety in the workplace. For this reason, ISO have developed an international standard that will be applicable to organisations of any size, sector or location.

In March 2018, ISO 45001 was published to increase global consistency and make workplaces safer and healthier for all. OHSAS 18001 will be withdrawn with the publication of ISO 45001:2018 and there will be a three-year migration period from the date of publication.

Main Changes

There are now 10 clauses, which is a significant departure from OHSAS 18001. The requirements are better organised around the new 10 clause structure which all the other Management System standards will follow in the future (including ISO 9001 and ISO 14001).

1.0 Scope

2.0 Normative References

3.0 Terms and Definitions

4.0 Context of the Organisation

5.0 Leadership

6.0 Planning

7.0 Support

8.0 Operation

9.0 Performance Evaluation

10.0 Improvement

4.1 Context of the Organisation: The intention of this is to ensure that the organisation has a high-level understanding of the important issues that can affect, either positively or negatively, the way the organisation manages its responsibilities in relation to the OH&S Management System for persons working under its control. The issues are those that affect the organisation’s ability to achieve the intended outcome, including the objectives it sets for its OH&S Management System, which include meeting its OH&S policy commitments.

4.2 Understanding the needs and expectations of interested parties:The organisation needs to establish whom the interested parties (such as legislative bodies, clients, the public, etc.) are and whether or not they are relevant to OH&S, and to identify the needs and expectations that those interested parties have.

5.0 Leadership: ISO 45001 adds an important new requirement; that top management has to demonstrate its leadership and commitment, and by taking accountability for the effectiveness of OH&S.

5.2 Policy: This now needs to make mention of the organisation’s commitment to continual improvement and has a commitment to worker participation and consultation.

6.0 Planning: You now need to consider risk and opportunities associated to the issues you identified in 4.1 with regards to requirement(s) of the interested parties.

7.0 Support: This requirement takes into account the areas of Resources, Competence, Awareness, Communication and Documented Information. Apart from restructuring of the requirements there is very little change. The most notable change is use of the term “documented information”, not “documents and records”, as is the case in OHSAS 18001. Documented information includes processed information held, for example on smartphones, tablets and the cloud.

8.0 Operations: This requirement takes into account the areas of Operational Planning and Control, Management of Change, Outsourcing, Procurement, Contractors and Emergency Preparedness and Response. There is very little change from OHSAS 18001 in this requirement apart from making some of these requirements more specific and explicit.

9.0 Performance Evaluation: This requirement takes into account the areas of Monitoring, Measurement, Analysis and Evaluation, Evaluation of Compliance, Internal Audit and Management Review. Again, there is very little change from OHSAS 18001 in this requirement apart from making some of these requirements more specific and explicit.

10.0 Improvement: This requirement takes into account the areas of Incident, Nonconformity and Corrective Action and Continual Improvement. As in other areas of ISO 45001, these follow the same requirements of OHSAS 18001 with the notable exception that Preventive Action is no longer mentioned, as this is managed under the concept of risk based thinking which is explicit throughout the standard.